Faculties & Chapters

Geographical Faculties

College Faculties are based on geographical areas are centred round Auckland, Waikato, Hawke's bay, Wellington, Nelson/Marlborough, Canterbury and Otago-Southland and allow members to be involved in discussion and decision-making at a regional level. There are also seven sub-faculties which provide local opportunities for connection and collaboration. All College members are automatically assigned to a regional faculty and will receive information about faculty activities directly.

Te Akoranga a Maui

The College has a Maori representative group known as Te Akoranga a Maui. Te Akoranga a Maui is made up of College members who self-identify as Maori and have a Maori whakapapa. Membership is optional.


The College currently has three chapters based on major national areas of practice:

  • The ‘Rural Hospital Generalists’ Chapter’ is made up of College members who are involved in the provision of services within the scope of rural hospital medicine. All Division of Rural Hospital Medicine New Zealand (DRHMNZ) members are automatically assigned to this chapter. 
  • The ‘Rural General Practitioners’ Chapter’ is made up of College members who are involved in the provision of services within the scope of general practice in rural communities. Membership of this chapter is optional.
  • The ‘Associates and Members in Training Chapter’ is made up of doctors who are enrolled in the College’s vocational training programmes. Membership of this chapter is optional.

Your Faculty/Chapter Representatives

Faculties Sub-Faculties
Te Akoranga a Maui
Chairperson:  Dr Bryn Jones
Secretary:  Dr Tangimoana Habib
Council Representatives: Dr Jim Vause &
Dr Tane Taylor
Rural General Practitioners' Chapter
Chairperson: Dr Campbell Murdoch
Honorary Treasurer and Secretary:  Dr George Tripe
National Advisory Council Representative:
Dr Jo Scott-Jones
Division of Rural Hospital Medicine Faculty
Council Chairperson: Dr Stephen Main
Board of Studies Chairperson: Dr James Reid
Northland Faculty
Chairperson: Dr Kyle Eggleton
Honorary Treasurer and Secretary: Dr Tanya Quin
Auckland Faculty
Chairperson: Dr Ashwin Patel
Secretary: Dr Chandrakkanth Jayaraman
Council Representatives: Dr Chandrakkanth Jayaraman &
Dr Ashwin Patel
Waikato Faculty
Chairperson: Dr Liza Lack
Secretary: Dr Ralph Wiles
Council representatives: Dr Sean Barklie & Dr Cecile de Groot
Tairawhiti Sub-Faculty
Chairperson: Dr David Somerton
Secretary: Dr Moira Cunningham
Hawkes Bay Faculty
Chairperson: Dr Penny Henley
Secretary: Dr Mark Peterson
Wellington Faculty
Chairperson: Dr Andy O’Grady
Treasurer: Dr Tim Marsland
Secretary: John Monro
Council Representatives: Dr Rachel Highton

Wairoa Sub-Faculty
Chairperson: Dr Colin Chilvers
Secretary: Dr Brian Underwood
Taranaki Sub-Faculty
Chairperson: Dr Johan Peters
Secretary: Dr Peter Catt
Whanganui Sub-Faculty
Chairperson: Dr John Kay
Secretary: Dr Alastair Wilson
Manawatu Sub-Faculty
Chairperson: Dr Martin Minnee
Secretary: Dr John Drake
Nelson/Marlborough Faculty
Chairperson: Dr Kae Bennetts
Secretary: Dr Tony Eames
Canterbury Faculty
Acting Chairperson:Dr Jason Pryke
Secretary: Josie Toop
Council Representatives: Dr David Pilbrow & Professor Les Toop
Otago-Southland Faculty
Chairperson: Dr Jim Ross
Secretary: Dr Jill McIlraith
Treasurer: Dr Mark Bevin
Council Representative: Dr Phil White

Southland Sub-Faculty
Chairperson: Dr Nick Terpstra
Secretary: Dr Nick Terpstra