Quality framework

The College's Quality framework is made up of two programmes - Foundation and Cornerstone.

Following extensive sector consultation and a pilot, the College presented it's finalised Quality framework in November 2019. We believe the new framework is more flexible, helpful and fit-for-purpose, for general practices wishing to demonstrate their ongoing commitment to quality and best practice.

Cornerstone programme

We’ve made some significant changes to the Cornerstone programme, including the introduction of accreditation levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold.

Practices will need to complete two core modules - Equity and Continuous Quality Improvement, to maintain or be awarded Cornerstone Bronze accreditation. Practices can build on this, completing further modules to reach Silver or Gold status

Foundation programme

To meet PHO Service Agreement Amendment Protocol (PSAAP) requirements and qualify for capitation funding, practices will need to complete the College’s revamped Foundation programme. This standalone programme provides a baseline standard expected of a general practice.

Cornerstone redesigned for you

We’ve listened to practices and made significant improvements to our quality programmes. Cornerstone is a fully flexible quality offering, giving practices the freedom to design an accreditation that best suits you. These changes make our quality programmes more appropriate, helpful and fit-for-purpose.

You decide which quality modules best apply to your practice and patients...

Core Modules

Elective Modules

Once achieved each module is valid for three years

Earning you one of three accreditations...

Two core modules

200 points


Two core modules plus several elective modules

400 points


Two core modules plus multiple elective modules

700 points