College updates

These College updates are correct on the day of sending but please be aware that during COVID-19 information changes quickly.

Omicron variant updates

Friday 1 April 2022

  • Pfizer's new oral antiviral treatment for COVID-19, Paxlovid, had arrived in New Zealand
  • Prescribing Paxlovid
  • Access criteria for Paxlovid

Read the update

Friday 4 March 2022

  • Advocacy work we've been doing
  • Take our survey about Omicron pressures

Read the update

Friday 11 February 2022

  • Looking ahead
  • Your wellbeing 

Read the update

Tuesday 25 January 2022

  • Breaking down the issues (communication, anxiety, at risk patients, workforce, BAU)
  • Key principles of general practice

Read the update

Sunday 23 January 2022

  • Life at RED
  • Taking care of yourself and your people

Read the update

Delta variant updates

Thursday 16 December 2021

  • COVID-19 vaccine associated myocarditis & pericarditis

Read the update

Friday 3 December 2021

  • College guidance: Patient management under the traffic light system
  • Treating unvaccinated patients
  • Clarity on the risk matrix
Read the update


Thursday 2 December 2021

  • Updated risk matrix
  • Treating unvaccinated patients: new College resources
  • College wellness resources

Read the update

Friday 19 November 2021
  • Vaccine exemptions and managing COVID in the community 
  • Meeting with the Ministry of Justice
  • College wellness resource 
  • Follow the College's new podcast

Read the update

Friday 12 November 2021

  • Keeping yourself physically safe
  • Keeping yourself mentally safe
  • Principles of Care: Unvaccinated patients
  • Principles of Care: Patients who refuse to wear a mask

Read the update

Thursday 28 October 2021

  • Vaccine exemption certificates
  • COVID community cases in Christchurch
  • Ventilation in practices 
Read the update


Wednesday 27 October 2021

  • Resources for vaccine hesitant patients
Read the update

Thursday 21 October 2021

  • Pfizer booster shot
  • The Pfizer third dose versus the booster shot
  • Vaccine exemption certificates
  • Principles of care: unvaccinated patients
  • Principles of care: patients who refuse to wear a mast

Read the update

Friday 15 October 2021

  • Managing COVID in the community

Read the update

Monday 11 October 2021

  • $1,000 payment to practices that open for Super Saturday on 16 October
Read the update



Friday 10 September 2021

  • Webinar: COVID vax clinic in general practice
  • IMAC COVID-19 clinical immunisation toolkit

Read the update

Friday 10 September 2021

  • Vaccinate Niue drive through event in Auckland

View invitation

Wednesday 8 September 2021

  • Pregnant people and COVID-19 vaccination
  • An update on screening at Levels 2 and 4
  • Law around mask use when at the GP/hospital

Read the update

Tuesday 7 September 2021

  • New testing guidance: 6 Sept - 3 November
  • Immunocompromised patients and COVID-19 vax
  • Monitoring COVID-19 in the community
  • Advice on mask exemptions/ exemption card
  • The principles of Level Two
  • New testing guidance for all, principles of Level 2, mask exemptions, community-monitoring COVID 

Read the update

Thursday 2 September 2021

  • The COVID-19 clinical advice line is 0800 177 622
  • Ministry's COVID testing guidance updated
  • Sign and show support for COVID-19 vaccination
  • Breast and cervical screening at Level Three

Read the update

Tuesday 31 August 2021

  • Auckland - restricted sites for priority testing
  • Locations of interest 'what to do' advice
  • P2/N95 exemption extended to 14 Sept
  • Certification of death - cremation
  • Infection prevention, control - working between sites
  • ACC update

Read the update

Monday 30 August 2021

  • Understanding myocarditis and pericarditis
  • Correct technique for preparing vaccinations
  • Childhood immunisation and wearing PPE
  • Webinar: Digital Health at Scale and Pace
  • The principles of Level Three

Read the update

Thursday 26 August 2021

Medical Director update 26 August: the Delta variant.

Read the update. 

Wednesday 25 August 2021

  • Resources to talk about vaccine hesitancy
  • Routine breast and cervical screening paused at L4
  • GP COVID vax survey still seeking responses
  • Post Vaccine Symptom Check (announced today)
  • Burnout tips for the professionally flammabl
  • Childcare for Level 4 worker
  • Latest updates from the Ministry

Read the update

Monday 23 August 2021

  • Important Ministry update about using N95 masks
  • Post-vax ob time changed from 20 to 15 minutes
  • Clearing up confusion - frontline
  • Webinar: Canadian lessons on mild-moderate COVID

Read the update

Saturday 21 August 2021

  • The COVID-19 unvaccinated workforce
  • The importance of equity in vaccination
  • Updated Telehealth resources
  • Updates from the Ministry of Health

Read the update

Thursday 19 August 2021

  • 12-15 year olds can be COVID vaccinated
  • Mental health/addiction services essential at Level 4
  • ACC: providing services under Level 4
  • Childhood vaccinations should still be done
  • New red stream information
  • Primary care quick reference guide has moved

Read the update

Wednesday 18 August 2021

  • Please use the Ministry as your source of truth
  • Fit testing exemption: N95/P2 particulate respirators
  • Other support and updates

Read the update

Tuesday 17 August 2021

  • The principles of general practice at Level 4
  • Ask a COVID-19 question

Read the update