Responding to Omicron - isolation protocols

22 Feb 2022

As Omicron cases increase in the community, there is an inevitability that general practice is the obvious place for these cases to be managed.

Responding to Omicron - PPE

11 Feb 2022

Over the coming weeks, we’ll be writing a series on different practical issues that general practitioners might experience with the advent of the Omicron pandemic.

 Next results

Responding to Omicron - isolation protocols

22 Feb 2022

As Omicron cases increase in the community, there is an inevitability that general practice is the obvious place for these cases to be managed.

Responding to Omicron - PPE

11 Feb 2022

Over the coming weeks, we’ll be writing a series on different practical issues that general practitioners might experience with the advent of the Omicron pandemic.

Responding to Omicron - red and green streams

8 Feb 2022

As we look toward the “new normal” for general practice we need to decide whether the physical separation of patients with COVID-19 infections from others is likely to be a permanent feature in our practices.

Responding to Omicron - Triage

1 Feb 2022

Over the coming weeks, we’ll be writing a series on different practical issues that general practitioners might experience with the advent of the Omicron pandemic.

Forewarned is forearmed

20 Jan 2022

I would be quite happy to see the back of COVID-19. The fatigue, burnout, and frustration I am seeing within the general practice workforce, and indeed felt by all of us, is unrelenting.

The booster Pfizer vaccine dose

18 Nov 2021

Dr Mark Thomas, Associate Professor in Infectious Diseases, University of Auckland, discusses the booster Pfixer vaccine dose.

Immunisation against COVID-19 will soon be compulsory

5 Nov 2021

Now that New Zealand has all but abandoned the elimination strategy for COVID-19, kiwis can either choose to be voluntarily immunised by the Pfizer vaccine or compulsorily immunised by delta.

The Delta variant explained

29 Oct 2021

Dr Mark Thomas discusses the SARS-CoV-2 variants and what makes the DELTA variant so much more infectious.

A much more optimistic position on COVID-19

13 Sep 2021

In March 2020, New Zealanders experienced one of our most dramatic peacetime events in the face of a perceived deadly pandemic

The importance of equity in vaccination

23 Aug 2021

Opinion piece By Dr Maia Melbourne-Wilcox (FRNZCGP) and Professor Sue Crengle By about the importance of equity in vaccination.

NZ’s COVID free status relies on trust in vaccine

21 Jun 2021

General practitioners up and down the country are fielding dozens of questions every day on the COVID-19 vaccine. The vaccine is well tested, and it is safe and effective

Variation in COVID-19 strain transmissibility and New Zealand’s response

20 Jan 2021

How should we interpret the reported increased transmissibility of variants of the virus that causes COVID-19?

 Next results

Member

Dr Ian Milne 1947 – 2022, an obituary

Much-loved Petone GP Dr Ian Milne passed away suddenly last month aged 74.

New direction for Northland GP Dr Aniva Lawrence

For Dr Aniva Lawrence, supporting her community isn’t just about caring for patients, it’s also about inspiring the next generation of health professionals.

 Next results

Rural

The specialist’s specialist: Dr Jared Green new DHRM clinical lead

Dr Jared Green was appointed to the role of clinical lead for the Division of Rural Hospital Medicine (DRHM) in September 2021 and brings to the role a mixed bag of specialties.

Celebrating rural resilience

Rural hospitals, and the teams who run them, are as crucial to local communities as the school, yet their contributions go largely unsung.

 Next results

College

Entries are open for the Greg Judkins Poetry Prize

Entries are now open for the famous Greg Judkins Prize for Reflective Poetry.

GP22: the Conference for General Practice

We're looking forward to hosting our annual College conference GP22: the Conference for General Practice, which will take place from 22 – 24 July at Te Pae, Christchurch’s brand new convention centre.

 Next results

Sector

Real world focus for postgrad primary health care curriculum

College Fellow, Dr Pauline Horrill is a convenor and teacher of postgraduate primary health care papers at the University.

Auckland PHO celebrates primary care

Alliance health Plus PHO held their annual awards recently, celebrating outstanding achievement in primary care.

 Next results

Clinical

The Health Benefits of Returning to Work

The first time I presented on the health benefits of work, the audience laughed. They weren’t laughing at me, they thought I was making a joke – it was an oxymoron. The words health, work, benefits, just didn’t seem to belong together.

Ukrainian arrivals health response

The Zealand Government announced the 2022 Ukrainian Special Policy which allows the estimated 1,600 Ukrainian-born citizens and residents in New Zealand to sponsor family who ordinarily reside in the Ukraine.

 Next results