Whakapakari, our curriculum review project 

12 April 2021

By Jill Walker, College Project Manager 

The curriculum of the General Practice Education Programme (GPEP) hasn’t been reviewed since 2014 so that review is what the College is doing now. Although some work on a review was done in 2018, it was never implemented. 

The College Board gave the project approval in September 2020.  

Whakapakari (to strengthen, mature (of people), develop) is what we’ve chosen to call this important project. It’s a chance to review both the curriculum (content) and the programme (delivery), decide what to implement from the 2018 review, and update anything else.

Our project’s success will result in a future-proofed, up-to-date curriculum that accurately reflects general practice beyond 2020. We’ll also plan for ongoing review and continuous improvement to ensure quality and provide assurance to key stakeholders and the regulatory body that the programme is fit for purpose.

Key objectives 

A key objective of the project is to ensure that the programme enables registrars to become self-reflective, culturally safe, pro-equity, anti-discriminatory Fellows of the College that understand the status and priority of Māori as tangata whenua. A good example of this in practice is our recent development of Te Ahunga.

The curriculum review is a substantial piece of work that needs to be delivered to coincide with the new cohort starting in 2022. 

Project team and timeframes

The review will include both content and delivery and that will be divided into content (stage one, January – June 2021) and delivery (stage 2, June – Dec 2021).

The project team is comprised of:

  • Dr Julia Hennessy – Head of Learning, College
  • Te Oraiti Reedy – Tumuaki Head of Equity, College
  • Karen Blakey – Educational Specialist, College
  • Lisa Harris-Powell – Education Development, College
  • Dr Sean Hanna – Lead ME
  • Dr Keri Ratima – Pou Whirinaki
  • Dr Cathy Stephenson – Southern Clinical Lead, College

The Project Manager is Jill Walker. The project team are currently working closely with an advisory working group made up of:

  • Dr Lynne Harvey – ME based in Whangarei
  • Dr Helen Pike – Me based in Blenheim
  • Dr Kerryn Lum – Censor in Chief based in Napier
  • Dr Peter Fleischl – Censor based in Tāupo
  • Dr Ranche Johnson – Assessor based in Auckland
  • Dr Lorraine Brooking – Assessor based in Kaitaia
  • Dr Sandra Jessop – Chief Examiner for clinical based in Hastings
  • Dr Michael Oehley – Chief Examiner for written based in Horotiu
  • Dr Vicki MacFarlane – Examiner based in Auckland
  • Dr Maia Melbourne-Wilcox – representative of Te Akoranga a Māui
  • Dr Katrina Kirikino - representative of Te Akoranga a Māui
  • Dr L’Ondine Tukuitonga – Teacher based in Auckland
  • Dr Sophie Febery – Teacher based in Ashburton
  • Dr Matire Harwood – GPEP1 Registrar based in Papakura
  • Dr Bhanu Sivakuma – GPEP2 Registrar based in Otorohonga
  • Dr Noelle Greentree – College Fellow based in Mangere