College Awards celebrate our members' success and the contributions they make to their community.

2021 College Awards

The 2021 College Awards will were announced at GP21: the Conference for General Practice, in Wellington on 7 August 2021.

College Awards Committee Terms of Reference 

Read the College Awards Committee Terms of Reference.

College Award nomination categories:

  • Honorary Fellowship
    Honorary Fellowship is given to individuals of distinction who have made an outstanding contribution to general practice or the medical profession in general. They do not need to be graduates of medicine.

Honorary Fellowship nomination form

  • Distinguished Fellowship
    Distinguished Fellowship is awarded for outstanding services to the College or Division’s work, or the science or practice of medicine. Distinguished Fellows embody our motto ‘Cum scientia caritas – With knowledge, compassion’, and have made sustained contributions general practice, medicine, or the health and wellbeing of the community.

    Note: To become a Distinguished Fellow, the nominee must have been a Fellow for at least five years. Distinguished Fellowship may be awarded post-humously.

Distinguished Fellowship nomination form

  • President's Service Medal
    Formerly known as the Distinguished Service Medal, this award recognises an outstanding contribution to the College or Division, for example: as a long-standing employee, Faculty of Chapter committee member, or medical educator. The award was renamed in 2021 to differentiate it from Distinguished Fellowship and emphasize the significance attributed to this award.

President's Service Medal nomination form

  • Community Service Medal
    This medal recognises members who have made an outstanding contribution to general practice through work in their own communities.

Community Service Medal nomination form 

Memorial Awards

There are four additional awards presented each year, that are not open for nominations.

  • Dr Amjad Hamid Medal
    The Dr Amjad Hamid Medal is awarded in honour of Dr Amjad Hamid who was killed in the Christchurch terrorist attack. The medal recognises the top student of the University of Otago's GENA 728 paper, which is Cardiorespiratory Medicine in Rural Hospitals. Dr Hamid, a heart doctor, was a member of the College’s Division of Rural Hospital Medicine. 

  • Humphrey Rainey Medal
    The Humphrey Rainey Prize for Excellence is awarded to the top candidate overall across the General Practice Education Programme (GPEP) Clinical and Written Examination.

  • Eric Elder Medal
    The Eric Elder Medal is awarded in honour of Dr Eric Elder, who was an inspired rural GP affectionately known as the grandfather of vocational training in New Zealand. The medal is generally awarded to a rural general practitioner.

  • Peter Anyon Medal
    The Peter Anyon Memorial Address is presented by a GPEP2 registrar at the Annual Conference for General Practice. The presentation is given in the memory of Dr Peter Anyon, who is recognised as having made an important and valuable contribution to the vocational education of general practitioners