College Awards celebrate our members' success and the contributions they make to their community.

Congratulations to the 2022 College award winners

The 2022 College award winners were announced at GP22: The Conference for General Practice.

College Awards Committee

The College Awards Committee is made up of:

  • President
  • Censor-in-Chief
  • Chair of the National Advisory Council
  • Chair of Te Akoranga a Māui Executive
  • Chief Executive

Nomination categories 

Distinguished Fellowship
Distinguished Fellowship is awarded for outstanding services to the College or Division’s work, or the science or practice of medicine. Distinguished Fellows embody our motto ‘Cum scientia caritas – With knowledge, compassion’, and have made sustained contributions general practice, medicine, or the health and wellbeing of the community.

Note: To become a Distinguished Fellow, the nominee must have been a Fellow for at least five years. Distinguished Fellowship may be awarded post-humously.

President's Service Medal
Recognises an outstanding contribution to the College or Division, for example: as a Faculty of Chapter committee member, medical educator, or long-standing employee.

Community Service Medal
This medal recognises members who have made an outstanding contribution to general practice through work in their own communities.

Honorary Fellowship
Honorary Fellowship is given to individuals of distinction who have made an outstanding contribution to general practice or the medical profession in general. They do not need to be graduates of medicine.

Submit a nomination 

Nominate someone by submitting a 2022 College Award nomination form.

You'll be asked a series of general questions about their achievements, and how they've contributed to the College's goals and demonstrated the College values.

The nomination categories are above. Keep these categories in mind while submitting your form, but you won't need to select the category you're nominating the person for, the College Awards Committee will decide who fits which category best.

If you've got any questions, please email and we'll be happy to help.

Memorial Awards

There are four additional awards presented each year, that are not open for nominations.

Dr Amjad Hamid Medal
The Dr Amjad Hamid Medal is awarded in honour of Dr Amjad Hamid who was killed in the Christchurch terrorist attack. The medal recognises the top student of the University of Otago's GENA 728 paper, which is Cardiorespiratory Medicine in Rural Hospitals. Dr Hamid, a heart doctor, was a member of the College’s Division of Rural Hospital Medicine. 

Humphrey Rainey Medal
The Humphrey Rainey Prize for Excellence is awarded to the top candidate overall across the General Practice Education Programme (GPEP) Clinical and Written Examination.

Eric Elder Medal
The Eric Elder Medal is awarded in honour of Dr Eric Elder, who was an inspired rural GP affectionately known as the grandfather of vocational training in New Zealand. The medal is generally awarded to a rural general practitioner.

Peter Anyon Medal
The Peter Anyon Memorial Address is presented by a GPEP2 registrar at the Annual Conference for General Practice. The presentation is given in the memory of Dr Peter Anyon, who is recognised as having made an important and valuable contribution to the vocational education of general practitioners.