The Board ensures the College maintains a steady direction in line with our vision, and stays positioned to our core mission and purpose.

About the College's board

The College Board is composed of seven members:

  • Elected President
  • Three elected College Fellows
  • Representative from Te Akoranga a Māui (the Māori representative group)
  • Two other members appointed by the Board

View the Board minutes (member log-in required)

Dr Samantha Murton

Distinguished Fellow and Wellington GP, Dr Murton was voted President during the College's 2018 presidential election.She was the College's inaugural Medical Director, is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Otago, and has been involved with the College's education programme for many years.

Dr Lauren McGifford

Dr McGifford is a working GP and has been Canterbury's lead Medical Educator since 2011.

Dr McGifford was elected to the Board in 2015.

Dr Joanna (Jo) Blakey 

Dr Blakey is an experienced GP practice owner who works at Manly Medical Centre, Whangaparaoa on the Hibiscus Coast. She holds post graduate diplomas in Child Health, Obstetrics, and Sports Medicine, and has a passion for medical education, having been a GPEP year 2 and 4 medical educator since 2009. Jo was the College’s 2015-2016 Board apprentice.

Dr Blakey was elected to the Board in July 2017.


Dr Greg Judkins

Dr Greg Judkins works as a GP in South Auckland in a high needs, diverse community. He is a co-owner of Clendon Family Health Centre. Since 1991 he has been a GPEP1 teacher and he has held various roles in the College's education programme.

Dr Judkins was elected to the Board in July 2019.

Susan Huria 

Susan is based in Auckland and has a management background in marketing, human resources, internal audit, environment and communications. As an Independent Director, she has more than two decades of governance experience, Chair of Ngāi Tahu Property, and a Director of Connexis (an industry training organisation), Construction Health and Safety NZ and the Chair of the Steering Group for ‘Growing up in NZ’ (an Auckland University longitudinal study).

Susan was appointed to the Board in August 2019.

Dr Nina Bevin

Dr Nina Bevin (Waikato-Tainui) is a Fellow of the College and has been working as a general practitioner for the last 10 years.

Nina has a Masters in Public Health (Yale University, 2019), Post graduate Diploma in Industrial Health with Distinction (Otago University, 2010), Post graduate Diploma in Business Administration (2007), and a Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (Otago University, 2004). 

Dr Bevin was appointed to the Board in July 2020. 

Dr Kiriana Bird

Dr Kiriana Bird (Ngāti Tukorehe, Ngati Porou) is a GP and the Medical Director for Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga (TTOH) in Hastings. She has a passion for Māori health and equity and has worked her entire career with Māori in Hawke’s Bay.

Kiriana is the Board’s Te Akoranga a Māui representative and in 2014 she was the College’s first Board apprentice.

She was appointed to the Board in December 2020.