The Board ensures the College maintains a steady direction in line with our vision, and stays positioned to our core mission and purpose.

About the College's board

The College Board is composed of seven members:

  • Elected President
  • Three elected College Fellows
  • Representative from Te Akoranga a Māui (the Māori representative group)
  • Two other members appointed by the Board

View the Board minutes (member log-in required)

Download a high res image of Dr Sam Murton here.

Dr Samantha Murton

Distinguished Fellow and Wellington GP, Dr Murton was voted President-elect during the College's 2018 Presidential election. She is the third female to hold this position, in the College's 45 year history. She was the College's inaugural Medical Director, is a Senior Lecturer at University of Otago, and has been involved with the College's education programme for many years.

Download a high res image of Dr Lauren McGifford here

Dr Lauren McGifford

Dr McGifford is a working GP, and has been Canterbury's lead Medical Educator since 2011.

Dr McGifford was elected to the Board in 2015.

Download a high res image of Dr Jo Blakey here

Dr Joanna (Jo) Blakey 

Dr. Blakey is an experienced GP practice owner who works at Manly Medical Centre, Whangaparaoa on the Hibiscus Coast.  She holds post graduate diplomas in Child Health, Obstetrics and Sports Medicine and has a passion for medical education, having been a RNZCGP GPEP2/3 medical educator since 2009.  Jo was the College’s 2015-2016 board apprentice.

Dr Blakey was elected to the Board in July 2017.

Download a high res image of Dr Sue Crengle here

Dr Sue Crengle 

Te Akoranga a Māui representative, Dr Crengle belongs to Waitaha, Kāti Māmoe and Kāi Tahu iwi. Her portfolio of qualifications include: undergraduate medical, Masters and PhD degrees and qualifications in general practice and public health medicine. Now she works part-time in practice and undertakes research for the sector including health services research, inequities in health, and youth health. 

Dr Crengle was appointed to the Board in February 2015.

Download a high res image of Dr Jo Scott-Jones here

Dr Jo Scott-Jones

Jo is a GP, medical educator and examiner. Based in Hamilton and Opotiki, Jo is a dual Fellow of the College and a Fellow of the Division of Rural Hospital Medicine.  He is a representative on the WONCA Working Party on Rural Practice.  He is also a Trustee of the College’s Research and Education Charitable Trust, the chair of Rural Health Alliance Aotearoa New Zealand and Medical Director of Pinnacle Midlands Health Network.

Dr Scott-Jones was elected to the Board in July 2016.