The College is built from six components: the Board, National Advisory Council, Senior Management Team, Educational Advisory Group, national chapters and local faculty boards.

The Board

A culturally diverse Board governs the College; elected Board members are general practitioners, supported by independent directors. The seven Board members include:

  •  An elected President
  •  Three elected College Fellows
  •  A representative from Te Akoranga a Māui 
  •  Up to two members appointed by the Board, who need not be members of the College

Meet the Board

Senior Management Team

The senior management team leads College staff to achieve our strategic aims of:

  •  Growing the GP workforce
  •  Setting quality standards for practices
  •  Representing our members
  •  Contributing to equitable health care for all New Zealanders

Meet the Senior Management Team

The National Advisory Council

The Council is the listening post for all College members and relays critical viewpoints from their local Faculty or Chapter regarding policy issues, priorities for policy work and other opinions from around New Zealand to the Board. The Council comprises of one member from every Faculty and Chapter all over New Zealand.

Meet the National Advisory Council 

Annual General Meeting 

The College holds its Annual General Meeting (AGM) no later than 1 October each year.

More information

Governance minutes

Minutes from the College Board and the National Advisory Council meetings are summarised.

View minutes (log-in required)

Division of Rural Hospital Medicine Council

The Division of Rural Hospital Medicine (the Division) operates on two levels; the Council and the Board of Studies. The Division Council governs the DRHM rural hospital doctors and the Board of Studies is responsible for the Division's education programme.

Meet the DRHM 

College Rules

The College Rules set out who may become a member of the College, and members’ rights, duties and privileges. They also describe the College’s charitable purpose and how the College will be governed.

College Rules 2019